Visionary Awards

2015 Honorees


Anne Wojcicki, 23andMe David Kelley, IDEO Katie Linendoll, Today Show Tony Fadell,

Anne Wojcicki
Anne Wojcicki co-­founded 23andMe in 2006 after a decade spent in healthcare investing, focused primarily on biotechnology companies. Her hope was to empower consumers with access to their own genetic information and create a way to generate more personalized information so that commercial and academic researchers could better understand and develop new drugs and diagnostics. Under Wojcicki’s leadership, 23andMe has built one of the world’s largest databases of individual genetic information and made significant advances in bringing personalized medicine directly to the public.
Introduced by: Kevin Surace, Appvance

David Kelley
David Kelley is the Founder and Chairman of the global design firm IDEO, as well as the Founder of Stanford University’s Hasso Plattner Institute of Design (informally called the His long history of success includes working for Boeing and NCR, teaching at Stanford University, and founding early ­stage venture ­capital firm Onset. He has received numerous awards for his work, and co­authored The New York Times best­selling book "Creative Confidence.” His primary interest is championing human­-centered design methodology, the culture of innovation, design ­thinking and creative confidence in both business and education.
Introduced by: Manish Patel, Highland Capital Partners

Katie Linendoll
Katie Linendoll is an Emmy Award winning TV personality, writer, tech expert and global tech consultant. She is one of the most in-demand tech personalities in the country, known for her first-look technology stories and gadget roundups. A writer and contributor for the TODAY Show, Linendoll also regularly contributes to and recently completed filming two series for Popular Science. She is the former host of All Access Weekly on Spike TV and A&E’s We Mean Business. Linendoll has also written for ESPN the Magazine,, Marie Claire, Shape Magazine, CNNcom and
Introduced by: Allison  Braley, Zoosk

Tony Fadell
Tony Fadell has a long history of innovation in Silicon Valley. He is the Founder and CEO of home automation company Nest, acquired by Google for $3.2 billion in 2014. Nest develops sensor-driven, Wi-Fi-enabled, self-learning, programmable thermostats and smoke detectors. Prior, he was the Senior Vice President for Apple’s iPod division reporting to Steve Jobs, and built the Mobile Computing Group at Philips Electronics. He has authored more than 300 patents.
Introduced by: Bill Gurley, Benchmark

In the Press:
View the press release
2015 Visionary Award honorees include leaders of Nest, IDEO, 23andMe and a TV tech star, by Cromwell Schubarth, Silicon Valley Business Journal
Leaders of Nest, Ideo, 23andMe and tech TV star honored as Silicon Valley Visionaries by Cromwell Schubarth, Silicon Valley Business Journal
Talking German with Nest's Tony Fadell, by Britta Weddeling, Handelsblatt
Recognizing Silicon Valley visionaries who have shaped our innovative ecosystem, by Michal Lenchner,


Past recipients of the SVForum Visionary Award have included:

Marc Andreessen
Craig R. Barrett
Carol Bartz
Forest Baskett
Andy Bechtolsheim
Eric Benhamou
Marc Benioff
Grady Booch
John Seely Brown
Nolan Bushnell
Kaye Caldwell
Edwin Catmull
Vinton Cerf
John Chambers
JoMei Chang
Alfred Chuang
James Clark
Ron Conway
Scott Cook
Alan Cooper
John Doerr
Donna Dubinsky
Tim Draper
William H. Draper III
Esther Dyson
Kamran Elahian
Doug Engelbart

Judy Estrin
Carly Fiorina
Bill Gates
Charles Geschke
Louis Gerstner, Jr.
James Gosling
Diane Greene
Promod Haque
Reed Hastings
Dr. Hermann Hauser
Jeff Hawkins
Trip Hawkins
John Hennessy
Reid Hoffman
Jessica Jackley
Dr. Irwin Mark Jacobs
Salman Kahn
Guy Kawasaki
Gerald Kearby
Vinod Khosla
Steve Kirsch
Kay Koplovitz
Dick Kramlich
Sandra Kurtzig
Ray Kurzweil
Steven Levy
Scott McNealy
Robert Metcalfe
Craig O. McCaw

Gordon Moore
Michael Mortiz
Walter S. Mossberg
Elon Musk
Catherine Muther
Nathan Myhrvold
Pierre Omidyar
Tim O'Reilly
Ray Ozzie
Arthur Patterson
Tom Proulx
Sandy Robertson
Arthur Rock
T.J. Rodgers
Heidi Roizen
Alain Rossman
Brent Schlender
Tina Seelig
Terry Semel
Chris Shipley
Jeff Skoll
Larry Sonsini
Jimmy Treybig
Guy L. "Bud" Tribble
Padmasree Warrior
John Warnock
Ann Winblad
Steve Wozniak
Jerry Yang